Police Department


Lester Prairie Police Department

The Lester Prairie Police Department can be reached at (320) 395-2100. Emergency calls should be directed to 9-1-1.

Lester Prairie Police Chief Bob Carlson can also be reached at: chief@lesterprairiemn.us. He generally has office hours from 9 a.m. to noon. The police department is located at 36 Juniper St N, Lester Prairie, MN 55354.

The department has three full-time police officers and five active part-time police officers.

More information about the department is available on the city’s website, www.lesterprairiemn.us.

The police department’s page includes a House Watch Form for residents who are on vacation. It also includes a “Most Wanted” feature. Anyone who would like to remain anonymous when reporting a crime may do so  by clicking on the Crime Stoppers of Minnesota link.

The department has also used Facebook as a way to inform the public of safety issues and concerns.

McLeod County Sheriff’s Dept.

Sheriff Scott Rehmann of Winsted is the 26th sheriff of McLeod County.

As the sheriff, he is the chief law enforcement officer of McLeod County and is responsible for both common and statutory law to keep and preserve the peace of the county. In addition, the sheriff is an officer of the McLeod County District Court and has charge and custody of the county jail.

McLeod County employs 25 full-time and 10 part-time deputies, who patrol an area of  503 square miles.

The county is comprised of 14 townships and nine cities, with a total population of 36,651. The county seat is Glencoe.

The McLeod County Sheriff’s Communications Division acts as the public safety answering point, more commonly known to the public as the 911 emergency system answering point, for six municipalities in McLeod County.

The sheriff provides the public safety radio network for Glencoe, Brownton, Lester Prairie, Silver Lake, Stewart, and Winsted police departments, as well as fire departments and ambulances in the county.