City Government

Information updated February 2024

Just moved to the Lester Prairie area? Here’s some information that can help make that transition easier.

City offices are located at 37 Juniper St. N. in the downtown area. Hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. The phone number is 320-395-2646. The website is

Elected officials
Mayor: Chris Mike

Council Members: Sean Tritabaugh, Gary Krause, Mark Thiry, and Paul Dhoore
The council meets the second Tuesday every month at 7 p.m. at City Hall.
City Hall hours are Monday–Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., 37 Juniper St. N., Telephone 320-395-2646, Fax 320- 395-8321.

City Staff
Accountant Coordinator-Clerk/Treasurer, Doris Lundin
Assistant City Clerk: Alicia Menzel;
Maintenance: Luke Meyer; Matthew Schlechter
Wastewater Treatment Operator; PeopleService, Inc. (Jeremy Anderson)
Building Inspector: MNSPECT, Waconia, MN
City Attorneys: Gavin, Janssen, & Stabenow LTD., Glencoe.
Assessor: McLeod County Assessor’s Office;
Health Officer: GRHS – Lester Prairie Clinic

Park Board
Katie Helmbrecht, Josh Schroeder, Josh Arndt and Council Liaison – Paul Dhoore.
The Park Board meets on the first Tuesday each month at 6 p.m.

Planning Commission
Merlin Mathews, Fred Blaser, Paul Christensen, Josh Schroeder, Ron Meier, and Council Liaison – Mark Thiry.
The Planning Commission meets the first Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m.

Economic Development Authority
Gordon Birkholz, Jr., Dean Perry, Paul Christensen, Council Liaison – Sean Tritabaugh, and Council Liaison Chris Mike.
The EDA meets the first Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m.